The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun. 16, 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    816

    Default \' and \" in Signatures - Tip

    This is a function of PHP coding (the language used in this board's programing). Those of you that see \' and \" in your signatures should change the ' or " to a ` or ``. This is the key to the left of the "1" at the top of the keyboard. Using that character will not give you the \ before it like the regular quotes usually do.

    ~Barbara
    "To be an equestrian in the classical sense is not just to be a rider.
    It is a position in life." --Charles de Kunffy



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug. 30, 2005
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,681

    Default Curious

    Curious to see if my sig comes out like that.
    Jen Evans & DaBear




  3. #3
    iluvmyequine Guest

    Default

    Checking things out for mine too



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun. 16, 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    816

    Default

    It only seems to be happening on some people's for some reason. Very odd! lol

    ~Barbara
    "To be an equestrian in the classical sense is not just to be a rider.
    It is a position in life." --Charles de Kunffy



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov. 13, 2002
    Location
    PA, where the State motto is: "If it makes sense, we don't do it!".
    Posts
    11,096

    Default

    I just went in and re-did mine--didn't bother with the ` or ``. I figured it had something to do with the way it was imported and the new board just couldn't read it properly....



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep. 6, 2003
    Location
    WA, Land of the damp Thongpend
    Posts
    2,451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cherry
    I just went in and re-did mine--didn't bother with the ` or ``. I figured it had something to do with the way it was imported and the new board just couldn't read it properly....

    This is the correct answer. The punctuation that was imported was interpereted incorrectly. Just take the things out of your signature. You can still put in the quotation marks as they are on your keyboard, since it will be done from the new application it will interperet them correctly.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    May. 29, 2008
    Location
    Va
    Posts
    523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by luvs2ride79 View Post
    It only seems to be happening on some people's for some reason. Very odd! lol

    ~Barbara
    testing



Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: May. 27, 2006, 03:08 PM
  2. Another "why do QH people do this" thread
    By BelladonnaLily in forum Off Course
    Replies: 103
    Last Post: Apr. 11, 2006, 06:54 PM
  3. "Viktor" injured at WEF?
    By horsecrazy42 in forum Hunter/Jumper
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: Mar. 24, 2006, 01:03 PM
  4. How come I keep getting "logged out" when I post?
    By Groom to Priceless in forum Help Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Mar. 22, 2006, 09:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
randomness