The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    at work and the barn...middle of nowhere PA

Default Moving to Philly and Everything that comes with it...

I know we have a lot of "good barns in the Philly area..." threads. My question is a little more...diverse? I guess I am looking for advice my entire move, but since I have 2 h/j horses to think about, their setup is vital to me.

I am a special education teacher, I worked in Baltimore for 6 years, and rode with a BNT who went to great shows as well as having an excellent foundation program at home. When I was there, I had 1 fairly easy horse. I moved to be closer to my family about 3 years ago. I "retired" the old man to the 3' ring w someone else, and started riding my 2 young horses. Unfortunately, where I now live is VERY limited in both equestrian and social areas. Very. About a year ago, I moved the 2 young horses to a nice place, but it's 95 miles away! 190 mile round trips + riding 2 greenies was killing me, so I put 1 in training board. That was expensive and ultimately did not give me the results I wanted, the trainer, while great overall, did not "get" the horse, and he is very much a personality driven horse. It wasn't working. Long story short, he's home w my parents, and the other one (doing very well in the program we have set up for him) is still 95 miles away.

There is NOTHING closer, believe me, lol, I tried it all! Both of my sisters now live in Philly. So, I decided on all fronts, that a move to Philly would be better for me and my horses. Better job opportunities, better social scene, and way better horse scene.