The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Performance anxiety

Not related to canoeing.

I have a ton of experience showing carriage but that was over 12 years ago. I have very little experience showing in saddle classes (class A Morgan circuit) . I think I have identified my anxiety as class-trophobia....that when the ingate closes I'm ON COURSE even tho it's just round and round western pleasure.

I'm not intimidated by the other horses or that I show against several world champions. I'm not intimated by the trainers even tho I show AOTS...I've had Morgans longer than most of them.

I think my problem is that at home I have unlimited do overs, start overs, walk and think for a while but from the time we leave for the show I'm terrified of showing. And it gets VERY BAD when I'm in the make up ring. I actually believe I don't like to show. Until I'm home and then I can't wait for the next show. And then I do it all over again. This has been going on for 3 seasons. I'm watching a Morgan show streaming from KY horse park and despite the heat I SO WISH I WAS THERE SHOWING. I showed there last year and the place is wonderful.

I've order 3 books (Jane Savoie among them) on riding anxiety and anxiety in general. I really need to work thru this because what I want most for myself is the relaxed fun that everyone else is having...chatting in the make up ring, laughing, smiling. In the pictures, my expression is like a woman facing a firing squad.

I've know my fellow exhibitors for decades and most of my women friends also show at the same shows. We are non-competitive and enjoy each other's company. They are always sweet, encouraging, complimentary.

Sometimes I think I need somebody to slap me and tell me to shut up, put me on my pony and shove me in the ring yelling over the ingate "GET OVER IT"!