The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Career/school advice for the computer science field

I don't see much from engineers on these boards, but I figure there's bound to be at least a couple of you out there who might be able to help me with some wisdom from within the field.

I have a bachelor's in Political Science, but post-college found myself in a tech company and am now in software QA. I've fallen in love with writing code and the engineering world in general and plan to make my career here. I'm ready for more and am starting to look for my next move.

Thing is, I'm debating how much of a hinderance it'll be to not have the traditional computer science or other tech-related degree. I've taken some evening/weekend classes for programming and am considering going forth with a second bachelor's program, but honestly, it's hugely time-consuming and I'm not sure it would make all that much difference in the end. It would be at least 2-3 years of part-time school and the thought of maintaining my current stress levels for that long makes me want to cry a little. But, if that's really the best way to advance in the field, then I can suck it up.

I would keep working full-time if I go ahead with this bachelor's program, so there isn't an issue of lost work time, though there is the potential for evening classes to interfere with late work nights. Luckily the cost of school itself isn't an issue either. I don't have the educational foundation to go into a master's program, and I think that would leave me overeducated and underexperienced for my current level anyway.

So far, opinions seem to be across the board regarding how much this degree would help me. I see so many job postings asking for a computer science degree, but then I hear that with comparable experience, a lot of companies don't care.

What do you think, my wise horsefellows?