The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Favorite hunter pony bloodlines/breeders?

I'm starting a tentative search for a medium pony for my DD and would love to have some recommendations on bloodlines and breeders known for throwing/breeding quiet, easy, fancy hunter ponies. I'm new to the pony scene (been >25 years since I've had one!), so please enlighten me on the "old school" pony lines and also any new breeders or pony lines that are proving to be family friendly and competitive in the ring. Thanks!

(PS - this isn't a sales add; please don't post about specific ponies. I just want to know about bloodlines and breeders that throw sweet ponies that win).

For some reason I've come to adore Empires Power... Nice stallion, seems to throw nice offspring too... There is one out on the market now

I believe this is him... Don't hold me too it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFMn1...2&feature=plcp

For breeders, I would recommend Robin Greenwood in Southern Pines. The animals she breeds are all lovely and from top bloodlines. Not sure what youngstock she has at the moment but if I was in the market for a pony, that's where I'd start

well Farnley and Shenandoah Ponies are still around We have alot of ponies by Meadowbrook Special Edition that are awesome. Lots of Empire's Power youngstock out there, Blue Rain is popular. When pony finals starts next month, pay attention to the ponies in the auction and their breedings, as well as you can search the pedigrees of the ponies you like on allbreedpedigree.com.

Here is a link to the Virginia Pony Breeders Association, always fun to peruse.

http://www.vpba.com/

at work and the barn...middle of nowhere PA

Benlea ponie. Very very attractive, smart, athletic, and THE BEST children's animals you will find.