The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Bits: Purchase Length vs Shank Length

I'm still learning about western bits and have read many bit descriptions that list the purchase lenght and the shank length. I know which part of the bit each of these terms is referring to. But am wondering how the length of the purchase affects the severity/action of the mouthpiece. Also not exactly sure on how the shank length affects this too. Any advise?

Thanks!!!

Purchase = upper part
    Shank = lower part

See picture
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Parts_of_a_Curb.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	62.5 KB 
ID:	36134  

Yes, I know this. I'm wondering how the length of each affects the action of the mouthpiece/bit.

The other thing that's worth keeping in mind is that, as warm and fuzzy as "tongue relief" sounds, by removing pressure from the tongue on some bits it increases pressure on the bars. That can make a mouthpiece dramatically more harsh independently of the shanks.

Some curve to the cross bar of a mouthpiece can sometimes be beneficial to accommodate some tongue shapes, but a tall, wide port build into that bar can be quite harsh as well.

Conversely something like a spade, even with a tall port, offers so much surface area that it's comparatively much less pressure in any one given area and in some ways can be considered much less "harsh".

Quote Originally Posted by aktill View Post
    Conversely something like a spade, even with a tall port, offers so much surface area that it's comparatively much less pressure in any one given area and in some ways can be considered much less "harsh".
    Anyone using a Spade bit as you describe, pulling and spreading out the pressure, shouldn't be allowed to have the bit!