The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    at work and the barn...middle of nowhere PA

Cool I was just seduced by a French accent and beautiful leather...

Sigh...
    Back story:
    I bought my antares saddle 6 years ago for my tb/perch gelding, and I have loved it so much. When I started riding my 2 younger horses and retired the old guy, I used the saddle with some extra padding bc their backs were so scrawny. Last year, I put them in a real program for the first time in their lives, and they started gaining weight and muscle.

Fast forward to present:
    A few weeks ago, I noticed my saddle "creaking", and then I noticed it wasnt sitting properly on Henry (or Hank the Tank, as he is now called) or Sam, so I called Antares to have some one come look at it.

Call me naive, or just hopeful, but I really wanted some type of miracle to occur that would mean I didn't have to spend $$$$$. Secretly I knew. I just didn't want to admit it.

Today the (charming French) Antares rep showed up, looked at my saddle (the squeaking sounded so much more pitiful by this time), when I showed him henry, he said "I know what the problem is....that horse is enormous!" (17.1 with huge shoulders and a butt that makes mine look tiny). He put me in about 6 saddles on each horse, and you guessed it... I ended up ordering a new saddle!

To be fair, I probably never had a chance. Beautiful leather, cute French guy (who told me I actually could use a SMALLER seat, woohoo!), and my infamous weakness wherever Henry or Sam is concerned. I was doomed before he set foot on the farm...

How much did you spend to have a french guy tell you that your butt is skinny and hothothot?

I hope he was worth his...um... fee. You left it on the nightstand, right? That's always a tasteful way to end this transaction.