The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Thoughts on friesian dressage prospect

I just purchased myself a lovely friesian...she has the absolute best temperament...can go out alone in the woods, on the roads, she drives, and she's bombproof under saddle. I'm wondering what you all think about her as a future dressage prospect?
    (excuse the lack of helmet in the photos..i just hopped on for a picture)

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h3...3/IMAG1264.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h3...3/IMAG1263.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nS8fuWI_OpM

Default canter?

Hi, I liked what I saw in the footage, not that I'm an expert. I like the way he motors along, thinking forward. He goes a little hollow now but when he dropped his head you could see the potential there. With Friesians, the weak point is often the canter, which is why I asked about the canter.

To me? Looks like you got a NICE one! Good luck!
    http://behindthebitblog.com
    Dressage, riding, sport horse blog
    BTBbrowbands.com
    Unique browbands for dressage and hunter riders

What is with the training yoke? Horse looks fine, but that it contracts from contact rather than looking for it, which is often a byproduct of the training yoke's downward pressure.

Friesians tend to have lovely trots, and this one is no exception. It is more the canter that I think would be important to see/assess to know if this horse has dressage potential.

Yeah i'm also not a fan of the training yoke...but she's at a morgan farm being trained for saddle and her trainer (the girl on board) doesn't really take up contact with her at all and has very steady hands so i'm not overly concerned with it. I don't have any footage of her canter unfortunately

What was his canter like in your opinion?
    BTBbrowbands.com