The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Conformation critique please

Hi

I am curious as to your thoughts about conformation of this mare to breed. She is a 15.3hh 10 yr old TB by Marju (out of Under Cover). She raced 20 times and won once - that doesn't particularly interest me. She has had three foals (all by TB stallions for racing).

I am an amateur rider that dabbles in a bit of everything - dressage, show hunter, showing, eventing, hunting. I am realistic about my riding ability and know that I am not a threat to any Olympic rider I am currently riding a home bred mare (and just had to have her full sister PTS).

I am looking putting an Andalusian stallion over her - not everyone's cup of tea I appreciate, but I am looking for a low maintenance all rounder.

It is winter here - we've had a couple of weeks of really cold weather, and a week of rain - so please excuse her appearance (and the state of the paddock!). I love her neck and shoulder. She has medium bone - I don't like too fine, or too clunky. She has have a nice face and a kind eye - not that you can see it with my shite photography!

Thanks

http://s1267.photobucket.com/albums/...t=IMG_0350.jpg

Well I must say Marju doesn't half stamp them! She's a nice compact mare and seems quite correct from the picture. I know nothing of how Andalusions breed so can't help you there. The Marju's I have delt with were quite quirky. I had one that was 14 hands fully grown from a very decent family line that was an absolute nut. She ended up a polo pony.

If it were me looking for an all rounder I probably wouldn't go Andalusian but maybe an Irish horse. (Yes, some of you might have just fainted). I'm sure some Andy people will tell me I'm wrong, but just going from my own experience which is zilch with Andy's.

Anyway, best of luck with her. She's a lovely mare.

Terri