The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default My Childish Jealousy Over Sharing a Horse

Hello!
    So I need to vent a little.
    I am a full-blown working student at my barn and I have a work-to-lease agreement (I get a free full lease in exchange for barn work) on my paint gelding. I have been training him for a year now, and I have brought him a very long ways. I took him from an out-of-shape deer-hopping low-confidence greenie to a fit, round, solid pony,(who still needs an experienced rider however). He was never really ridden in lessons much, even though he is a lesson horse, he scared everyone off in less than one ride.
    However, in the past few months, he is now capable of being handled by an intermediate rider over cross-rails. So, this is where my trouble starts.