The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Showing the B circuit when you should be doing the A circuit...isssues?

I dont want to come off arrogant or winey.

I have a nice hunter, experienced and talented. I am an average amateur rider who can put together a good course, but can also have minor (and some major!) mistakes.

I have done the A circuit with said horse, and received decent ribbons. Never a winner, but usually jogged for something if we found all 8.

After a year off (and year off lessons) I am showing again this summer. This year I can not afford or desire to show onthe A circuit. Horse is sick of the two day shows (as am I), and the B ciruit offers good prices, divisions over 1 day and decent showgrounds.

The issue is, the "comments" that we dont "belong" in this circuit. As far as quality goes, my horse fits in right in the middle. However, I think our long term partnership has left us with one major strength - consistency. Because of this, we frequently jog top 3.

Should I feel bad about showing in a B circuit? At first I didnt, because I know there are honestly some very nice quality horses. But even my friend told me the other day that I should think about doing something else.

I dont want to be a jerk, but I do enjoy showing and the A circuit right now is just not an option. I dont feel like me or my horse are better than the others I show against, but I almost feel more pressure to win because its whats now "expected".

What would you do in a situation like this?

Your equestrian pursuits are something you are doing for your own enjoyment and happiness. Do what makes you and your horse happy and never mind what other people say. I know it can be hard to ignore those kind of comments, but there will always be someone saying something you wished they wouldn't.