The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Turn out for actively racing horses

I have NO knowledge of the racing world. I have "friended" Union Rags on fb because I am a fan of Matz. On his page there are several pictures of him turned out in a good sized grass paddock. Even one of him laying down looking relaxed and happy. Is this normal practice for a racehorse that is actively racing at his level?

Most racetracks do not have any sort of turnout facilities but Union Rags is trained out of Fairhill Training Center- http://www.fairhilltrainingcenter.com/ and they do have paddocks for turnout.

I have known people who train their horses off the farm and ship in to race because they want to be able to allow the horse some turnout.

It's not typical but always makes me happy to see.

Thanks. I always assumed they were all handgrazed to keep them from acting silly & hurting themselves in turnout. It made me happy to see him in a grass field being able to be a horse for a bit.

Many racehorses in Europe are turned out daily. They also get real breaks. Not just forced time off due to injury. Makes for happier healthy horses. And sometimes they even have group turnout while in training. Obviously not older colts but bitchy mares but most are quite happy with buddies just like normal horses.

Terri
    COTH, keeping popcorn growers in business for years.

"I need your grace to remind me to find my own." Snow Patrol-Chasing Cars. This line reminds me why I have horses.