The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Balking & won't walk forward

I'm still pretty new to driving. I've taught 4 horses to drive, and now run into a problem that I can't seem to work around.

Mark is older, and has a lot of dressage training under saddle. Easy going and very responsive. He's been casually driving for a few months now, and has been doing very well. Over the past few drives, we've run into a problem. After a halt, i'll tell him to walk, get no response, cluck, get no response, and tap him with the whip and get a huge overreaction. Admittedly, I don't use my voice undersaddle, and he's so responsive to weight cues, but if nothing else, he damn well knows what a cluck is. I've repeated the whoa/walk over and over with a header and without, and sometimes he gets it at "walk", and sometimes he waits for the tap of the whip and then freaks out.

Compounding on this problem, last time we drove, we had walked and whoa'd a number of times, then drove through a gate. I halted about 20 ft in front of the gate, to wait for my header to close it and walk on with us. When I asked him to walk, he started scooting backward. This is a horse who HATES backing up under saddle. HATES IT. I tapped him with the whip, but was hesitant to scare him, and my header caught him just as he bumped into the gate. At that point we both heavily encouraged him forward and had a good lesson on walk/whoa/WALK.

Yesterday we ground drove, and worked a lot on our transitions. He had one reminder that walk meant walk, and did really well the rest of the time.