The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Leasing questions

I've been exercise riding a horse since January. He had a suspensory tear last summer and has been on a slow program of rehabbing. He can do light work, no jumping. He's 17 or 18 (can't remember) but isn't ready to retire and very much has a good bit of "life" in him. I'd be hesitant to retire him now (he's sound now) because he has a good bit of spunk left, so ideally he'd be lightly ridden for pleasure for a few more years before being retired.

The owners are considering giving him to me at the end of the summer provided he is still not "back" enough to jump (which no one's holding their breath over; it's a show barn and needs jumpers, not this guy. I have problems with their immediacy to dismiss him, but that's another thread. )

I'm a college student and I know between school and a part-time job I would not have time to be with him like he needs, but I'm hesitant to let the owners rehome him somewhere else. I don't trust the owners in rehoming horses because of some history with that (former horses of theirs have died from negligence with new homes, and I'm DEFINITELY not supportive of letting this guy go to whomever.)

After exhausting possible options, I considered the possibility of taking this guy and leasing him out at the barn where I work currently. I would be with him a few days a week and able to check up on him. I would have help with payment. I know he deserves more attention than I can give him, so someone riding/taking care of him regularly would assure me he's in good hands. I know a few people who could "take him on."