The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Your favorite/least favorite gemstone, diamond shape, etc. . . . ?

What is your favorite/least favorite gemstone, diamond shape/color, gold color, anything, etc. . . . ?

It's a hobby of mine and I have a small degree in gemology, Accredited Jewelry Professional from GIA, is why I ask.
    Last edited by sonomacounty; May. 28, 2012 at 10:45 AM.

My favorite is sapphire, which is my birthstone, accompanied by diamonds. Shape doesn't matter. Size matters. :-) LOL

Although I really enjoy all nice gemstones - precious & semi-precious - my birthstone (Amethyst) also happens to be my hands-down favorite. I only like the really deep purple Amethysts though - don't care for the paler lavendar ones.

For favorite Diamond shape, I only like round. Don't care for the others.

Gold color? Definitely good old yellow gold.

Ah, sapphires, love them.

Avoid the real dark ones that you usually find in the mall stores. The nicer ones are actually a more blue color, not that almost black/super dark navy color.

http://www.palagems.com/sapphire_connoisseurship.htm

Its not nowhere, but you can see it from here

Size, cut and clarity all matter to me! Love a good emerald cut diamond, but in the interest of getting a slightly bigger stone for less $$$ I went with princess cut. I love sapphires as well. Not at all a fan of pear cut anything. My birthstone is ruby, but I am not a huge fan of them. I am currently on a smoky topaz kick

I prefer yellow gold. Or platinum. White gold always looks like someone trying to pull off platinum on a budget to me. Plus, I was married with my great grandmother's yellow gold band
    From AliCat518 "Seriously, why would you NOT put fried chicken in your purse?!"

My birthstone is ruby, but I am not a huge fan of them.

In reds, red spinel blows ruby away, imo. I'm not a ruby fan, either.