The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Debating a job offer

I was offered a job this early last week and am really struggling with whether I should accept it or not so I’m looking for some COTH wisdom (good timing for an OT day!!). I told them I'd respond with a decision by Tuesday.

I graduated a couple weeks ago with a M.S. I had great grades and several good job and intern experiences while in school. But, I am a recent grad and have relatively little experience compared with other people who have been working full time for several years. I've been sending out applications for a couple months, this is my first offer.

The job offer is with a great company in an field I’m interested in. The job description listed a few components of the job that sounded really interesting to me as well as some that were significantly less interesting. After talking with the woman who current holds this position, it sounds like the less interesting stuff takes up the majority of her time. Over all though, the job itself sounds pretty good, and the company really is exceptional.

My big concern is with the location. It’s in a pretty remote, rural area. I don’t necessarily want to live in a huge city, but I would like to live in a mid-size city and that isn’t really an option here. The town I’d live in is small and seemed very quiet based on the time I spent there last week/weekend. Living in a larger city would require a much longer commute and isn’t an option.

I couldn't afford to ride during college or grad school and would like to get back into it. I did h/j growing up and really want to start showing and riding again. I've googled the area extensively and can't find a barn of any type located within a reasonable distance.