The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Super duper basic breeding questions....

so i finally picked a boy for my mare, and she will be bred in approx 15 days ...... since i have never done this before other than live cover, i need some basic info to help me understnad all of this

I am pretty sure i will be sending her to a breeding farm where she will be teased/bred and then, if all goes well she will stay til she foals next year.

However, they shut their breeding doors at the end of June so if she doesn't take i will need to do something different... so that makes me wonder lots of things... (which of course i will ask them when i go visit but i am curious now lol!)

a) what is the standard manner of covering a mare using fresh cooled?
    1) do you use it all in one attempt in the hopes she takes or
    2) do you break it up into several insemination's over hours/days?

b) can you tell if a mare took right away or do you need to wait til ultrasound at 14 days?

c) what is the best way to ensure impregnation during one heat cycle?

d) what is teh chances of her taking the first time since she is a maiden at 13? (she is healthy etc)

so many questions!

Is the stallion at the breeding farm your sending he to? If so, that makes life A LOT easier. I tease the mares that I want to breed daily, as soon as I get a response, I typically ultrasound them. Your vet will tell you when to order semen based on the ultrasound. I usually use Deslorelin the morning that semen is to arrive (some people do it the day before). Inseminate the mare. Since she's an older maiden, I would talk to your vet about fluid clearance issues. I always use oxytocin. Ask your vet about that, and potentially a lavage as well.