The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default This I just had a moment!

I thought I would post this here because you all may understand this. I have been taking dressage lessons on my young horse, and I do low level eventing and jumping, so have never really focused on the dressage.

So, during my lessons, I feel like a contortionist - trying to tip my pelvis up, tuck my butt under, push out my stomach, stretch my legs back and long, shoulders back and down - geez, just remembering what goes where had me tense and exhausted - not to mention feeling like a dork, total beginner. I have ridden a loooong time, just in my jumping saddle, mostly in 2 point.

I was practicing today for our event derby this weekend, and all of a sudden, I realized my horse seemed to be very steady, soft, float-y, almost. Then I became aware of what I felt - I was relaxed, all the above parts seemed to be where they should, my legs were moving against his sides evenly each stride and I felt like he was up under me! I think I get it. It felt great, he seemed happy to go along softly, and I didn't know quite what to do.

I stopped, walked, then trotted again, and it happened twice - with conscious thought behind it. Anyway, I wanted to share with people who might understand. I always thought that if I decided to ''do' dressage, it would just be a switch of tack, boy was I wrong. Anyway, thanks for listening. Hopefully, I can duplicate it this weekend at the show with nerves and atmosphere!!!

You had an epiphany! Awesome, now you'll have that tape to play in your head. When you sit right and less is best a whole lot happens!