The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Talking I just got my first upper level prospect!

So there's really not much of a point to this thread other than that I'm really excited and had to share somewhere (the bf listens but as horses don't have propellers and turbo engines he's not really as interested ).

The colt is a bay, two year old Dutch warmblood. He's by For Compliment out of a Sandro Hit/Donnerhall/Pik Bube I mare. My trainer and I saw him at DG Bar Ranch when we went to pick up her three year old and I really liked him. Sadly, I'm not independently wealthy though so the odds of me getting a horse like that seemed pretty weak. That was until my BF's parents generously offered to front the money for him and sort of 'sponsor' me.

When I graduated college, I went right into teaching high school and from that into working as an independent contractor for the government. Now that I am living with my BF in Reno (after he was medically retired from the Air Force) and trying to figure out what I really want to do with my life, I've decided to take a stab at being a trainer (I dabbled with it before sort of part time while I was still in Florida but clearly couldn't pursue it full time as I had a sensible, 'real,' full time job. lol). I think that if I continue to work with my current trainer as I am I may actually be able to pull this off which would be awesome. And, if not, I've also been accepted into grad school for the fall so the worst case scenario is that I'll have spent a few years playing with horses while I finish my MBA.