The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Cross fencing with electric tape - use electric gate or regular?

I am putting up about 650 feet of cross fencing, and it will have one gate at one side. The new fencing is electric tape (Horseguard bipolar, 2 strands, solar) on round wood posts.

I go back and forth about whether to use an electric gate or a store bought metal one.

Any thoughts on which is safer? It will not be used very much, just for infrequent access with tractor etc. Horses will come in and out through another gate.

Any pros and cons of electric gates? The rest of my fencing is pipe top rail with wire mesh, so I am new to electric fencing.

Thank you!
    Rest in peace Claudius, we will miss you.

For infrequent use, an electric gate would be fine. For daily use, I'd put in a real gate. Moving horses through an electric gate often would be a PITA.

Agree, just use the material you'll have - electric gate. Set a post before the last one such that you can hook the gate handles onto something to keep the gate tape out of the way of the opening if you need to leave it open to get something through.

I like the coiled electric fence gates.
    http://www.electric-horse-fence.com/...ates/index.htm
    You need to scroll down the page to 05-01 (pictured with a yellow handle)
    Edit: Although I see that one is not safe for horses but 08-25 is safe for horses
    Oh, well, clearly you're not thoroughly indoctrinated to COTH yet, because finger pointing and drawing conclusions are the cornerstones of this great online community. (Tidy Rabbit)

But that very gate is actual listed, in bold, as "rated as unsafe for horses".

The Horseguard gate, which is just a handle attached to the already electrified tape, is quite safe.