The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Unhappy Jumping fear (Me, not the horse!)

I know this issue has been brought up a lot, and I have read all the old threads but I am having major issues regarding fear and jumping height.

I have been a rider for 10-15 years, on and off. As a teenager I had a horse I took up to about 3 feet at home, but didn't really show. Had some time off 6-7 years, and came back into jumping again, this time with a large pony. I have never been a confident rider, but pony was awesome, took me from xrails to 2'9" hunter in one show season, taught me to sit up and ride. Now I have a new horse, a young warmblood mare I started riding in early January. She is very willing, our first show one month after I got her was up to 2'9".

Recently I had a few mental issues that are affecting my riding in a huge way. Once I start thinking too much, my brain goes out the window, I can't see a distance, I look down and my shoulders go forward. I am having major issues, especially at oxers. My mare has a very lofty jump and getting an awkward distance to an oxer higher than 2'9" tosses me out of the tack sometimes. If I can't see the distance I just go limp and grab mane. This usually leaves us with a stop at this point.

It's definitely a mental issue, just typing this post I am getting palm sweats an light headed thinking about it. Same thing with watching youtube videos of other people jumping, my hands start sweating.

Jumping up to 2'6" is okay. I think if I had a great 2'6" round I'd probably be fine to go in and do 2'9", but for some reason jumping it on the warmup ring freaks me out, just going up to a single fence, especially an oxer. Last weekend I had a meltdown at a show, pulled out of all my 2'9". My final 2'6" hunter round was great, if I could have gone into a 2'9" after than I would have.