The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default My air vest won't deploy

I just purchased a Hit Air Advantage. I decided to test it out before I used it. Glad I did. The vest would not deploy. No matter how hard my husband pulled, the ball would not come out. We then took the vest off of me so he could pull harder. No luck. He then sat down, put the cartridge under his feet and pulled with both hands. The ball would not be removed. On closer inspection it looks like the ball is to big for the hole. The safety was up and out of the way. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem or if anyone has heard of anyone else getting a faulty vest? Or perhaps I was doing something wrong and that's the reason I couldn't get it to deploy. Thanks for any input. I'm new to air vests.

Try more realistic parameters.

Put on vest. Get on horse. Attach vest to saddle. Jump off.

Did you contact the company?
    Quote Originally Posted by alicen View Post
    We have no intentions of tarring and feathering anyone: this is now a thread about dipping Ryan Reynolds in chocolate.

Quote Originally Posted by SuZQuzie View Post
    Try more realistic parameters.

Put on vest. Get on horse. Attach vest to saddle. Jump off.
    FAIL.

If the vest does not deploy she will be attached to the horse and potentially drug if the horse spooks.

It sounds like you have a defective vest. Call the manufacturer.

This is reason number 4 (I think) why I don't trust air vests. Yes, there have been plenty of similar instances as you describe from both manufacturers.

Quote Originally Posted by RAyers View Post
    FAIL.
    This is reason number 4 (I think) why I don't trust air vests. Yes, there have been plenty of similar instances as you describe from both manufacturers.
    It's #1 for me. I don't want to be attached to a 1,200 lb flight animal if the tether fails to detach.