The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Lawn tractor - mower deck won't start?

Have a Troy-Bilt lawn tractor. Pulled it out of storage and cleaned it up, hopped on and it started up right away... went to turn on the mower deck and .......... nadda.

Not even a shudder. No movement whatsoever.

Mr. Rodawn (most decidedly NOT a mechanic) pulled it all apart, checked the fuse (okay), checked the belts (all in the right places), checked the blades in case something was wrapped around (clear), double-checked the battery (okay). Now stands there scratchin' his head.

Any ideas what the problem could be? Electrical??
    http://www.mariposasporthorses.com/

Practice! Patience! Persistence!

I'm no pro, and I'm sure someone will be in here to correct me, but I don't think there's anything electrical about the blade engagement on a lawn mower. It's all mechanical. When you engage the lever, that pulls a tensioner to tighten the belt to the pulleys. Whether the mower is on or the keys even in the ignition, moving the lever should tighten the belt.

You need to check what's happening when the lever is moved. Turn the mower off. Feel the belt on the pulleys with the lever disengaged. it should be very slack and can even be slipped off the pulleys. Now engage the lever. You should be able to feel the belt tighten and you shouldn't be able to move the belt, but you should be able to manually turn the blades. If you can't turn the blades, maybe something is wrapped up in the spindle that holds them.

StG

I will check with Mr JB as our Cub Cadet had a similar issue and the problem was an easy fix

Well darn, Mr JB said our problem was the belt having come off. Since yours is still on, make sure it's tight enough.

Check the connection between the seat and the whatever it is that won't let the PTO run if you get out of the seat.