The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Working Student Position

Hi everyone,

I am currently a working student for a trainer and everything is going great. I groom and tack up horses for the trainer, lunge a few horses each day, and ride some every so often. I get a lesson each week and also get lessons when I am riding some of the horses in training.

I want to find something when summers over with a Hunter/Jumper trainer where I can continue to work but maybe live at the property instead of having to drive there. The current instructor I am working for just goes to Dressage Schooling shows and then recognized three-day events but I don't have my own horse and the horse I lease is very green and only does dressage. If there were showing opportunities I would stay forever but unfortunately there are not.

Eventually I would like to be a trainer or instructor and I need to get as much experience as I can in before its to late. I would like to travel with a barn and work for them on the circuit and learn about management, care, etc. At home it would be nice for me to live there and be able to board my own horse when the time comes.

Do any of you think an opportunity like this is out there? I have been looking everywhere but nothing seems to fit what I am thinking of.

I am a hard male worker (18) and know a lot about horse care and riding. I have only been to schooling shows though so need to get some experience. If anyone has any ideas of where I should look that would be great. I am actually hoping to travel and go somewhere out of state for this and I am not necessary looking to work for one of the top show barns right away.

Thanks for your help!