The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Late To The Game Working Student- Where to Look/Who to ask?

Hello all! I'm a little late to the game but I've finally decided that the equine industry is where I want to be. I was a working student here and there throughout college and I worked for a pretty respectable (but now retired) trainer soon after graduating and then later ended up at a desk job. But now almost 10 years later I'm rethinking my life choices and realizing in the barn is where I really want to be. As I've always owned a horse and always ridden, groomed and shown on the A circuit, my barn management/care skills are extensive. I can clip, wrap, medicate, lunge, fold laundry (j/k ), drive a horse trailer, adjust riding equipment, assess and make blanket changes. I have fairly basic knowledge of saddle fitting and an overly ambitious knowledge of equine nutrition. I'm also certified in equine massage Oh and I'm quite savvy with a broom. Neat and Tidy is my middle name. But what I really need to get back into shape in order to be considered a serious employment candidate are my riding and teaching skills. I rode a lot as a junior (with Michael Page as my trainer), competed at the open level in Intercollegiate but I haven't shown as an adult in 4 years, and even then it was only a few years in the adult hunters & some medals with my own horse. I still have my own hunter that I ride every day and I also began schooling horses for a local trainer a few months ago. She has put me on everything in the barn- from her GP horse to the SS ponies and everything in b/w. So I've got my riding "legs" back in place. But what I really need is instruction, training, direction. And my "eye" still needs work. I need to get back to seeing a distance out of the corner and not a few strides out. And that takes practice, practice, practice. Also, as with many industries- its w