The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Lost one of the good ones today... RIP Peaches 4/2/99-4/16/12

With a heavy heart we had to make the decision to say goodbye and my golden girl, Peaches, crossed the rainbow bridge today. I tried to write a tribute to her, but I'm not sure it does her justice.

Saying goodbye the last time I saw her a few months ago... I just knew.

I’ll never forget the day you were born. Gary, our next door neighbor owned your mother, Koko. I was a freshman in high school and out of town on a school trip in Mexico. My mom got to meet you at two hours old and I met you a few days later. There was a little drama at first because the litter expected to be seven puppies only ended up four. We were nervous that we wouldn’t get to take you home but things worked themselves out with time. We were on vacation (Italy – a whole different story) when you were ready to come home so Gary kept you for us until we got back. You had already grown so much and barely fit into my lap by the time we got home! Frisky, our then seven year old Australian Shepard, was less than thrilled about the addition to the family. He spent a few months teaching you he was the alpha dog – not that you ever objected or put up a fuss. After a few months, we saw him relax the “rules” he set for you. Where he initially drank water first, we soon found both your heads in the bowl together. You clearly trusted him so much. He was the only dog you’d really rough house with; all the other dogs made you nervous. Not him! Somehow you always ended up on the bottom of the pile but it never stopped you from going right back at him for more. Dad tried so hard to get you to play with people the way you played with him but it never really worked because all you really wanted from your people was to be pet. Getting pet, eating and swimming made your world go around. I do think swimming won