The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Spin off : what does it take to make it to GP ?

I was reading the thread about 'Top rider mistakes'. And a poster mentioned that you needed to take at least 3 lessons/week and audit or go to a clinic once a month.

Well, let's be realistic there ... not going to happen in my world.

I hope it doesn't take 3 lessons a week and a lot of clinic auditing to get to GP or I will never get there.

I'm a pro (young horse trainer) and I'm currently working with a stallion I started 5 years ago. I was an eventer till 4 Years ago.
    Right now we are struggling to make our way up and to be honest so far I have not been able to take more than a lesson every 2 months or so.
    I'm trying to get to the point where I can get 2 or 3 lessons/months but there is no way I will be able to find the time or money for more than that.

Is there hope to actually make your own GP horse if you don't have access to a schoolmaster or if you can't lesson at least once a week ?

I have shown succesfully up to 4th level (with an other horse), and right now I feel stuck somewhere between 2nd level and PSG ... Still not confirmed on some 2nd level stuff, but way further along on some other areas and could probably pull it off on some sequences of the PSG.

I have been trying to be very careful to not skip any basics in my horse's training, and while we have sucessfully graduated from the 20m circle era, I still feel that everyday I find little holes here and there in the training.

Any input ? Experience ?

I have been lucky to work with some very good trainers (I'm very picky and at least I know that the little instruction I'm getting is correct).