The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Moving from sand to pasture

I've been keeping my guys on a sand lot for the last 8 months or so. It didn't make much difference as here in TX there wasn't any grass anywhere anyway. However, we've had so much rain recently that everyone (apart from us) has LOADS of pasture. I agreed with the farmer half a mile down the road, that I could turn the guys out there on his massive, unused pasture.

So, conscious of a sudden change, founder, colic etc and because the pony is... well a pony!.... I have been walking them up, leaving them out on 50 acres for about 2 - 3 hours and then walking them back down again. I am totally amazed that I can just go to the gate, shout them and from specs in the distance they come cantering up (thank goodness. I had no idea how the heck I was going to catch them on 50 acres if they decided not to come).

Does this sound like a reasonable rotation for now - 20 odd hours still on the sand lot, gradually reducing their hay and 2 - 3 hours in the grass, hopefully steadily increasing to 8 over the next couple of weeks?

I am contemplating buying the pony a grazing muzzle just in case.

Anything else I should consider?

I'm in TX too and dealing with the same thing. I'm interested to hear about how to do this. My grass is 2 foot high. I have a friend in the Thorndale area, and her 3 mares are already lame

I wouldn't have started with 2-3 hours, I would have started with 30 minutes.

But, if the horses are ok, then leave then at 2-3 hours for a week or so, then add an hour every 2-3 days. Keep a close eye on hoof temp and manure consistency and back off the time if those things deteriorate.

I'd muzzy the pony now

We have diarrhea today. Hard to tell if it is grass related, although likely. He has also been having diarrhea because of suspected sand. Screwed either way!