The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Bots in Manure after deworming

Raising my hand in shame, since if found those ugly red stomach bot things in the manure after doing Quest Plus.

I thought my deworming protocol was okay. But I admit last year I stopped scrapping the bots off their legs, as I had read that deworming will kill whatever they injest anway. WRONG! Oh so wrong. And admittedly it was a really, really bad bot year.

Okay deworming experts, how do you suggest to proceed & when?

I am thinking 5 days of liquid Safeguard? Or can I just follow up sooner than intended with a dose of Ivermectin? Regular Quest & when?

I am fully horrified, & really cheesed that my poor gang, or at least one, had bots that bad. Okay, I only found two bots in manure. And yes, I am a chronic manure inspector! But two, is two too many.

JB, you reading this?

TIA
    Last edited by ThisTooShallPass; Feb. 24, 2012 at 09:49 PM. Reason: spelling as always
    "Police officers are public servants. Not James Bond with a license to kill."

I muck out my paddocks completely 1-2 times a day and its been years since I have found any bots in their manure after worming. Or any other worms for that matter

One mare I got in I made the mistake of giving a full dose of Ivermectin to and the next day and for the next 4-5 days after that she shedded out hundreds or maybe thousands of them. Im really not kidding. I thought I killed her - she got really colicky, went right off her feed and her entire paddock was a sea of red bots in her manure piles for days. Each pile would have 10-15-20 in there. It was absolutely disgusting that anyone let her get to that stage ...

She did recover thank goodness and subsequent wormings had minimal to none in there

I'd go Ivermectin personally but interested to hear what others might say

Quote Originally Posted by ThisTooShallPass View Post