The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Another once-a-week rider critique...

The jumps are little and the video quality is bad, but this is me on a newish horse I may start doing in the Adults. Love this horse—he's a star.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90dJbdrNoM0

I'm working on getting my leg back underneath me (a few years of riding wild NCAA horses in college left me a bit defensive) and not leaning. But... considering I ride once a week (and am not nearly as fit as I was as a junior), I'm relatively pleased at the moment.

I think you look good! Adorable horse <3

You're right it is a hard video to watch. As an instructor I would first not have you going over any fences until you get more core strength. Your legs need to be solid and in contact with your horse before you start to think about fences, big or little.

By working on the core and foundation you need, even one day a week under saddle, it's well worth the effort to make you a much better rider. Even when not riding you can workout to gain core strength. You seat and legs are your communication tools for your horses.

If I were your instructor I would focus on flat exercises for now, grids, ground poles, gymnastics and small raised poles. No stirrups work too!

It will come just don't rush the process.

Quote Originally Posted by classicsporthorses View Post
    As an instructor I would first not have you going over any fences until you get more core strength. Your legs need to be solid and in contact with your horse before you start to think about fences, big or little.
    Did we watch the same video? I know some COTH critiques are strange, but I never expected to be told that I shouldn't be jumping—particularly when I'm doing the 3' divisions at shows.

Thanks for your advice though. We do a lot of no stirrups and a ton of grid work.