The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Keeping an Intact Male Dog

A semi spin off from the Show Dog thread. I was wondering who here has a male that is 1 year + and intact?

I have no plans in breeding my puppy but I would like to show him and see how well he does in the ring. As a college student I know that it will not be feasible to send him off and have him professionally finished over the course of a few months. If he does well and enjoys the ring, I would love to finish him but I know that it would likely take years.

I've never wanted to keep a male intact but if I want to show him I will need to put up with it for a while. I also heard (but have not personally read) about research that suggests that waiting until 2 years to neuter ensures maximum bone density.

So I guess this is a request for personal experience, thoughts on age of neutering, and insight on the challenges of owning an intact dog (if any).

Thanks,
    GLR

I do not suscribe to the blanket spay/neuter so all my boys are left intact unless there is a medical reason to change that.

My girls are always spayed unless they are going to be bred.

The diff for girls and boys is that with every heat cycle a girl experiences you take an increased chance on developing a pyometra. Don't want to even *think* of going there.

My intact boys were never different from any neutered rescues I got/had neutered. I have only had trouble with marking when it was anxiety was the issue, or not being trained/handled well. Anxious girls will mark as well.