The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Critique/advice

This is this gelding's third week in work after almost 5 months off. Before the 5 months off, he'd had a grand total of 3 'dressage' lessons, which were also my first ever dressage lessons, with a new trainer after 7 months of no lessons, coming from the hunter world. Needless to say, I'm quite happy with how good he's being! He's naturally very balanced and in my uneducated opinion, will be a very cute low level dressage horse.

I've been doing "dressage" for about 6 months and obviously have no idea what I'm doing. This is the first video I have of myself in over a year and it's really helping me see what I"m doing wrong. I should note that I am NOT trying to get his head stuffed in a frame, despite what the vide might show. I really am trying to keep his throat latch open and not let him get stuck behind the vertical
    Things I already knew that the video tape showed:
    -Too low of hands
    -Not following enough with hands
    -Elbows out and hands turned in (grrr, can't break this habit)
    -Tense, unfollowing seat
    -Looking too far ahead in turns. Annoying habit I've had for years
    -Need more outside rein/leg in turns

Things I did not realize I was doing
    -Choppy, 'stabbing' post-I need to soften and I bet he'll soften
    -Chair seat

Any advice? How does his pace look? I'm focusing on keeping him forward without letting him rush, but I'm surprised to see that his canter looks so slow! I thought I was being good about keeping him forward. Oops!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqzXKB9oHdo
    Quote Originally Posted by pinecone View Post
    I can't decide if I should saddle up the drama llama, dust off the clue bat, or get out my soapbox.