The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Social economic barn strata

I know I'm not the only one who feels poor sometimes at their barn (unless you're of the upper strata). I'm a teacher so I'm obviously not at the top, more like the bottom. However I teach bilingual kids who are in definately financially disadvantaged; so to them I may appear well off.

I'm at a nice barn w/ a great trainer. I usually take an average of 6-7 private lessons a month. I put down my first horse of 12 years in August. Coincidentally I had just purchased a mare in April. She is a very nice horse that I could possibly compete at in rated shows. My last horse was not as talented. I could probably compete in one or two A shows a year, but not enough to rack up points for the end of the year.

In any case I need to become more competitive (I'm not an aggressive rider). Possibly w/ my new horse I'll progress b/c she is patient and jumps what she needs to confidently. B/c of my lack of competency at this point renders the whole racking up of points null. But the fact that my horse could be competitive brings me back to the point that I could not compete at A shows b/c of my finances.

I see kids who go to 2-3 A shows a month w/out batting an eye. However I really don't think I'm financially badly off compared to the general non-horsey population. So how do you classify people at the barn- as really well off, kind of well off, or just poor? I hope I'm not sounding sour b/c I know how lucky I am. Some people can't even afford a horse. Also my question has the possibility of bringing in humorous perspectives.
    Last edited by teal tea; Jan. 20, 2012 at 10:50 PM. Reason: Spelling