The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Your Opinion on Chiropractic?

My four year old gelding jumped a 6 foot pasture gate from a stand still and landed on it. He didn't end up with any problems except a couple of small scratches. My vet suggested that I have a chiropractor come and make sure everything is "correctly placed". I've never used a chiropractor before and I'm not sure what to expect.
    FYI horse is stiff on the right side when turning.
    Any good or bad experiences with chiropractors? Your opinion on how helpful(or not) it was etc.
    Thanks in advance!

I wouldn't let a chiro who is not also a vet touch my horse. I know some, and they are dangerous crackpots. There may be some who are great, but I've seen enough scary ones to not go there.

That said, chiropractic is excellent for my horse. He forgot to slow down when taking a turn in turnout and ended up getting everything out of whack after the slide he took. I can feel a huge difference in him when he needs work, and have tiny telltale signs which indicate when it's time again. He also makes it obvious it helps - first time I met my chiro, my horse walked up and stuck his head into him for cuddles. He'd worked on him in the past, and my horse made it clear that was someone who makes him feel good.
    My horse is a dressage diva so I don't have to be.

Quote Originally Posted by katarine
    If you have a fat gay horse that likes Parelli, you're really screwed

I think for occasional things that get "out of whack" such as you're describing, a chiropractic treatment can be just the ticket. I would also not use one who was not a vet.

As to whether it is necessary for all horses on a routine basis, or do I think that chiropractic treatment can have effects on non-musculoskeletal problems or disorders, well . . . I refer you to my signature line.