The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Your Horse Dreams: Then vs Now

In light of one of the current threads, I thought it might be neat to discuss how much our dreams have changed as we've grown up and (hopefully) become wiser...

I'm currently 23. Got the horse bug when I was 4 or 5, had to wait until I was 8 to take lessons in my city (though I worked as a barn rat/stall mucker/trail helper at a place for a summer before starting lessons - learned how to stay on at this place). Rode at the lesson barn until 2004, when I more or less "graduated" to my current coach. Was a working student over the summers for him for 3-4 years.

When I was younger, I wanted to go to the Olympics. Period. Did want my own barn, didn't want to be a trainer... I wanted to go to the Olympics.

As I got a bit older and realized that may not happen, I wanted to compete for the EC Medal (Canada's Maclay, more or less). This didn't happen either though, because I was horseless. Like so many others, I'm sure, I was the person at the barn who worked lots, helped lots, rode lots of youngsters... but didn't necessarily get to show.