The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default stupid misunderstanding made me embarrassed

Before I say anything, please do not judge me. I understand it was a stupid mistake and it was just a big confusion on my part. In the end I feel bad and embarrassed.

Two days ago I had a jump lesson on my gelding. Usually i ride lesson horses but that day I got to ride my gelding. He has the tendency to get to jumps very long, almost every time. He's pretty good at single fences but lines excite him and he gets there long. Now I'm a bit of a beginner jumper (only do 2ft) and so I don't have a lot of experience. It was my understanding that if a horse kept getting to a jump long than you would shorten his stride and get an extra stride in on the line. Again, BIG misunderstanding on my part. Here I was working on getting my gelding to shorten his stride. But all this time i'd been training my gelding to basically chip in every jump because I was making him fit in an extra stride. It felt a little awkward but much better than a huge long distance.

SO my trainer was super nice about it but she made me feel stupid. When she asked me why i was holding my hrose back I explained to her and she said "you don't have the experience to train a horse so don't htink that you can. When a horse is getting to a jump long you have to lengthen their stride. You need to get off his mouth, let him do his job." NOW, I know she was right. I'm not trying to say that she was wrong. I just was so confused because I felt sure and it made sense in my mind that you would shorten the stride on a line! But she made me feel stupid and I felt insulted that she would tell me I can't train my horse. I'd obviously managed to train him to do the wrong thing, but at least he was listening to me and being a good sport about it!