The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Looking for dressage trainer near Portland, OR

Hi there,

This is my first time posting - woo-hoo!

I don't own a horse, but I'm currently half-lease shopping after my last half-lease horse moved to a different barn.

I've been looking at some places and who I've liked best so far was Julie Hook in Aurora, OR. Now, I know she's an eventing trainer, so I wanted to pop my head in here at the dressage forum to see if anyone had an opinion about her as a dressage trainer. I took a trial lesson and thought she was a) very posture-centered (depending on what you like that can be good or bad - I found it quite detailed and interesting) b) strict but kind and c) clearly experienced and goal-oriented.

Has anyone ridden with her for dressage? I've seen another of her students ride and was quite impressed - but then again, I'm more of a low-intermediate / high beginner. I need your expertise! What is your impression?

Do you have other ideas for barns/trainers?

I'm looking for kind, able horseperson that can teach me how to do it right Barn with great community, trail access and a galloping track would be a big plus. Plus, I need a horse to half-lease...

Thanks in advance for your ideas!

I knew a dressage amateur based with Julie & she loved it there.

I started riding with Julie last October, and while I don't ride primarily dressage, I enjoy her lessons very much. We do work on leg yielding, shoulder in, etc, but I also jump. I am not at a very advanced dressage level if you cannot tell

I ride a lesson horse there (although I have my own mare at a different barn ... I know, weird). There are many dressage riders at the barn, and there are often fun schooling shows and get-togethers (very community oriented). As far as I know she does offer leases and half leases - the horse I ride is available.