The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Holy Cart Tip Over, Batman!

I am a driving newbie. Yesterday I was taking a lsesson driving a mini in a 2 wheeled cart that the man giving the lesson had made. Everything was hunky dory until I drove too close to a pylon and the cart wheel went over it and the cart tipped over onto its side. The poor little mini was scared and ran a bit until he could be caught. The cart was righted with the mini still attached. He had one leg over the shaft and was good enough to stand and have his leg picked up and correctly placed on the right side of the shaft. This was the second time I have driven.

I have been toying with the idea of getting a driving mini and playing around on the trails on the farm. Now I'm not so sure.

Give me some advice. The man giving the lessons said that you always need help hitching up, which I usually don't have. I would be interested in a less tippy cart with more suspension...any recommendations? How often do carts tip over?

any cart can tip, and accidents can happen.BUT- Sounds to me like you just need a better quality cart. This guys homemade cart probably was not a good choice. While it is nice to have ahelper when you hitch, it is not required...that is like saying you should always have someone hold your horse while you mount. I would not get scared away from having a mini to drive if you want one, but i might try to find a better driving trainer, or look for a really experienced driving mini to start with.

As a new driver, you do need to learn safety, correct order of doing things. You then have to work with your equine, who may not know these steps or already is very well trained for driving, to get you both working comfortably together.