The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Bit Legality Question

I am an eventing newbie looking to finally venture out to some shows and horse trials this year! I am concerned about the legality of my bit in the dressage phase. I ride my mare in a Sprenger Duo 3 ring, with the reins on the snaffle setting (big ring). I picked up the bit for a steal of a price, hence the elevator part being available, but not used. Will I need to cough up the $75 to buy a regular Duo?

Here is a picture to help:

http://www.horsebitbank.com/producti...nental-3_1.jpg

Short answer, Yes.

Long answer: there are specific legal cheeks for dressage, and the only one that is not a "normal" snaffle style that is still allowed is the Baucher, which would have similar action to the "snaffle setting" on a bubble bit. Don't know if the Duo comes with a Baucher cheek though.

Not legal for dressage. Plenty of options in a plastic, mullen mouth bit, however.
    Click here before you buy.

Before you go to buy your new bit, look up the US eventing rules online, down load a copy or just print off the pages that are relevant to your query.

Its all set out really clearly. If you are planning to event, you really need to read the rules first anyway.

Don't know about national level eventing in the US, but for national and FEI level here, break the rules and you get eliminated. Not great when you've out so much time, effort and money into something. It may be that no one will notice that you have an illegal bit while you're warming in, but the judge notices when you're in the arena and rings the bell, or following dressage you have a bit inspection. Then you're loading your horse up and heading home .

phoebe, I have checked out the rules and did not get a good answer which is why I am coming here.