The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default When you find something dead in a bale of hay, how much do you toss?

Found a dead vole in a bale of hay, and I tossed the flake with the vole, but do I toss the flake next to that one too if it seems OK?

TIA.

We had a dead vole also a couple of weeks ago. We threw out the flakes around it also.
    Every man has a right to his opinion, but no man has a right to be wrong in his facts.
    Bernard M. Baruch

Back to Normal.. or as close as I'll ever get

If it was a mummified dead thing I'd toss the flake to either side.

If it was a freshly-dead/still squishy thing I'd toss the bale rather than risk botulism*.

*I'm no expert, but Google search seems to state botulism toxin cannot survive long exposed to air
    *friend of bar.ka*RIP all my lovely boys, gone too soon:
    Steppin' Out 1988-2004
    Hey Vern! 1982-2009
    Cash's Bay Threat 1994-2009

Yeah, it was so dead, it took a minute to realize what it was. I had already fed the flak on one side, tossed the flake with the vole and the next.

I'd toss the whole thing. I don't know very much about botulism, but I'd rather not risk it!

While I realize that these days hay is like gold, I too would either return the bale (minus the dead body) to the vendor, or toss it. Actually, I don't really "toss" them - I either add them to my compost pile or spread them around my trees as mulch/fertilizer.