The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Living in SF and boarding (moving from the east coast)

So I graduated early from Cornell this December and will be starting a job in San Francisco next month. The office is downtown. I lived in the bay area when I was younger but my parents have since moved- my mom to CT and my dad to Orange County, CA. I am not that familiar with the city... I would love recommendations on the best areas to live in the city that would allow me to access downtown but also access to boarding barns somewhat near the city (I'll have my car with me). I would prefer to be within 45 minutes (but am okay with up to an hour).

A bit about my riding/boarding preferences: I ride only dressage and I have an 8 year old Friesian mare. She needs at least 4-6 hours of turnout per day (all day is preferred but probably not realistic). I would prefer for the trainer to be on-site but am okay with trailering in if I have to...

Also, I realize there are other threads on this and I will be looking into those barns but since I'm not familiar with the city I would appreciate tips and information on driving times, locations, etc- Thank you!
    Last edited by hvfdressage; Dec. 27, 2011 at 01:43 PM. Reason: editing

Congratulations on your graduation. I'm in SoCal so can't help with your questions regarding boarding but am sure others will chime in.

In the meantime, you should check out the Bay Area Equestrian Network; bayequest.com or bayequest.info

Good Luck