The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Religion and Relationships

I'll be amazed if this isn't a trainwreck within three pages, but I do have a serious question.

How do those of you in a serious relationship with someone whose religious views are very different than yours work things out? We are three years into a wonderful relationship where we have lightly danced around our own spiritual differences. He was raised in a strongly religious family, and I was not. I read bits of the Bible and had a children's bible (I usually read the story of Noah's Ark, liked the pictures) and grew up with the general idea that JC was good and died for our sins, etc. I also grew up reading Native American, Greek, and Norse mythology; I think they are all great stories and parables from humanity's past.

Fast forward, I have a degree in Earth Science; I believe the Earth is 4.5 billion years old, and series of extinctions, geologic change and evolution have brought things to where we are today. I don't completely disbelieve in the possibility of a "divine being" or "great spirit" out there. Just because we haven't seen it or found it doesn't mean it's not there.

DH-to-be is honestly concerned that because I am not a believer, when the time comes I will not go to heaven. I know that sounds pretty minor in the day-to-day scheme of things, but I know this bothers him. However, it seems to me that you cannot pick and choose what you believe in within a religion. I feel that I cannot say that yes, the Earth is 4.5 billion years old, and humans evolved from ancestors that diverged from apes, and also say I am a Christian; that feels like that can't coexist. I also find it hard to believe that with so many peoples and cultures around the world, there is only one right way and all everyone else will go to he##.