The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Project Feeder Watch/Cornell Lab of Ornithology

Anyone else doing this watch? This is my first year, and, though I have had bird feeders for many years, I find that, by watching so that I can get an accurate count, I'm spending more time both watching, and learning.

http://www.birds.cornell.edu/pfw/

I like the fact that there are people from all over the country watching, and that, in some small way, I'm actually helping Cornell study, and perhaps preserve, our wild birds.

I don't know if it's too late to sign on for this year or not, but I think it's excellent fun and urge anyone who is interested in birds to sign up for next year, if you can't still get in this year.

One thing that I have noticed, and wonder about is that, at the beginning of the count, in November, I had about an even distribution of chickadees and titmouses (titmice?). As the weeks have progressed, I have noticed less chickadees, and more titmouses. This week, I haven't seen a single chickadee. I don't remember this in past years and wonder if the chickadees are being displaced by the titmouses?
    Originally Posted by Alagirl
    We just love to shame poor people...when in reality, we are all just peasants.

Louise good for you on doing this project. I loved it when I did it.

Not suere about the titmouse question as we dont have them here. My limited expereice, arent the titmouse a more bold bird than the chickadee. That would certainly acount for some change.

Another factor might be predation and disruption of the feeding flock that the chickadees associated with. How is your woodpecker number. Often woodpeckers ( downy and hairy) act as sentinals for a feeding guild / mixed flock. If this bird is lost, there is a possiblity of the flock to change its behavior

and disease can be selective a tough factor.