The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Exclamation Scary! Anaphylactic shock from Xylazine

Wow! Today the dentist was out to float the teeth of an OTTB rescue that is here. I have very little background on this horse and he has been here recovering nearly 3 weeks now.

I administered 2 ml of Xylazine IV for the dentist - as I have dozens and dozens and dozens of times over the 3 decades. An WHAM! Anaphylactic shock!

OMG Horrifying! When 1100 pounds of seizing TB goes down in an instant it is horrifying! Thank GOD the dentist was so calm and I pulled it together - knowing that it was too dangerous to do anything but stay clear!

Luckily he was in a clean deeply bedded stall. I got the vet on the phone immediately. She had me give him 4ml of Dexamethasone under his tongue when he had stopped thrashing. That was the best I had on had. And she would have been over an hour getting here so I did what I could.

It was touch and go for about half an hour. The dentist, his wife/assistant and thank goodness my adult Son was home! Stayed with the horse and I until he was clear.

When it was "safe" I went and opened the back door of his stall to his paddock so he could get some air and sun because he needed to get up and not give up. We got him to raise a bit and wake up a little. He was still woozy from the meds. When he was ready he got up and was OK.

His head hit the wall on his way down and then from the thrashing he is scraped up and his eye is swollen but OK. Suddenly he was "Ok" alert and interactive.

The dentist felt he was OK of a mild hand float - the poor guy's mouth was a mess from LONG term neglect and he was having a difficult time eating since he has been here and is painfully under weight. The insides of his cheeks are raw and ulcerated from the hooks and ramps scrapping his cheeks inside.