The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Spin-off: Attending clinics without hurt feelings...

I live in an area with a small horse community, but over the past few years the riders here have done a good job of bringing a few good/semi BN & BN clinicians every year. For those of you who are regular clinic-go'ers, how do you bring the subject up with your regular trainer to avoid hurt feelings?

Personally, I love the idea of riding with a lot of different trainers. Whether or not I will like a certain trainer's method is, of course, established on a case by case basis, but I think it's good to ride with a lot of different eyes (and therefore experiences) on the ground.

I have one trainer with whom I've been riding since 2004. He's a great coach and does a wonderful job with young horses (he bred my mare), and I will be riding under him as long as he's teaching/as long as I'm in the province.

So I'm curious - do you sit down and talk with your trainer before you go to clinics? How do you explain that you aren't looking for "better", just "different"? This may not be an issue for a lot of people who have a trainer that is just a trainer, but I am quite close with mine. I consider he and "his" to be second family, and I know they feel the same about me. I do want to partake in clinics with my mare as she gets older, but I want to be sure I'm not unnecessarily offending my coach.

dude. what kinda trainer makes you feel like you need "permission" to go to a clinic?

Tamara
    Production Acres,Pro A Welsh Cobs
    I am one of the last 210,000 remaining full time farmers in America.We feed the others.