The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default How does it look like this saddle fits me?

*Update post #61*

I am new to riding in dressage saddle (hence the stirrups still being a bit short - I'm getting there!) so I'm not sure if it looks like this fits me. Fits my horse great and I really feel good in it, but really not sure....
    help?

http://s59.photobucket.com/albums/g2...t=Roeby005.jpg

and a video - no critique please, new horse, new saddle! Just to see if it looks like it put me in the right place, etc.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTCBw5K2usQ
    Last edited by HappyHorselover; Jan. 21, 2012 at 07:20 PM. Reason: update

The seat looks fine. When you drop your stirrups a hole or two, your leg will have a better position on the flap. Right now, while moving, your knee is being forced over the front of the knee pad (which is probably causing you some balance issues you're trying to solve by keeping your stirrups short. )
    Athletic Horses. Educated Riders.
    www.Ride-With-Confidence.com

I think the seat looks fine. It's comfy for you and comfy for your horse and that's all that matters.

If I had any critique, it would be that your femur looks a tad long for the flap, but when you lower your stirrups it'll probably be fine.

Cute horse! You two look to be having a great time. Have fun!
    "Drawing on my fine command of the English language, I said nothing" - Robert Benchley
    Cotton would fight.
    http://buildingthegrove.blogspot.com/

I would agree about dropping your stirrups down. The flap might still be a tad too straight for your femur, but it would be much better. Also, it looks like you might be pushing yourself further back in the seat by keeping the stirrups shorter, or it could just be the balance point.