The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Holiday tipping

I did a search and can't find any guidance on holiday tipping for trainers and others. I've been riding at a school barn for just a couple years. What is appropriate? Should I tip my trainer (whom I don't pay directly, I send checks directly to the barn owner whom I have never met. I mention this because I wouldn't just be able discreetly to add the equivalent of a lesson or two to my check, for example, and know that it would reach the trainer). Should I tip the farrier or the fellow who mucks stalls? I do my own tack and care for the school horse I'm riding that day, so there is no groom to speak of. In the past I just gave a small gift to my trainer but I'm not sure if that is correct. Thanks for your guidance.

I prefer to give gifts to trainers, barn managers, farriers and vets. I wouldn't worry too much about it, it doesn't have to be a huge gift. Grooms and barn workers get tips, and to be honest I tend to be most generous with these folks. In your case, even though you don't own a horse that the barn workers are caring for directly, I think it still would be nice to share the holiday spirit with the workers in some simple way--maybe some home made cookies or something like that.

I'm not a trainer but a BO/BM and every year my clients give me gifts at the holidays. I'm so grateful for their generosity, but honestly I'm mostly grateful to have such nice people as clients, they didn't really need to get me anything! OTOH, I see every day how my workers go out of their way to take the best care possible of all the horses and it really warms my heart to see clients appreciating that.

What is an appropriate tip for the folks that clean the barn and turn out?

If there is a head groom so to speak, do you tip him and he distributes the money?