The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Calling all Veterans

Come and stand/speak up so we can all thank you. As a dentist, I was in the Navy in the early 80's.

United States Naval Academy 1984 - 1988
    United States Navy 1988 - 1994
    United States Naval Reserve 1994 - 1996

Ohio: Charter Member - COTH Hockey Clique & COTH Buffy Clique

US Army ROTC 1989-1991
    US Army Reserves 1991-2001
    "Of course it's hard. It's supposed to be hard. It's the Hard that makes it great."

"Get up... Get out... Get Drunk. Repeat as needed." -- Spike

My dad is a veteran of the Korean War. In fact, his ship was torpedoed & he ended up bobbing up & down in the ocean hoping not to be shark bait before he was rescued.

So, since he & my mom are big-time foodies, I just sent him a 4-pack of "whale-size" soft-shell crabs in celebration of Veteran's Day. The Maryland company had a Veteran's Day discount of $11.11, & it was worth it to hear my dad's exclamations (they live by the shore on Long Island) that he's getting soft-shells next week.

Worth every single friggin penny I spent.

I am not a veteran, but I wanted to say "thank you!" Also, Wounded Warrior Foundation posted a list of businesses offering freebies and discounts to Veterans today (or if you're in the Acworth area, my husband would buy you lunch on his own )

On Veterans Day, people across the country show their support for our Armed Forces. Businesses show their love, too! Here's a list of some of the special deals available to veterans this year. Be sure to call ahead and make sure the business is participating in your area!

Restaurants

Abuelo’s Mexican Food - Abuelo’s offerings vary by region, be sure to call ahead to see what the discounts or freebies are included.

Applebees - All veterans and active duty military eat free from a limited menu at Applebee’s on Veterans Day.