The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Spin off of martial arts = horses thread

Been meaning to post something about this...curious to see how others respond.

I had worked as a professional in the horse industry and loved it, but decided to return to school for back-up plans and better pay () and my last position prior to returning to school was as barn manager of a very large, hectic show barn.

It dawned on me the other day, as I work part time in a restaurant right now to help pay the bills while in school, that I act in the restaurant as I would at the barn. It was interesting that the kitchen manager noted early on that I "moved" around the other workers easily, very body-aware in a busy kitchen, and that I never lost my cool no matter how crazy the orders got or how packed the restaurant became...

And I thought it must be the two decades spent in the horse world!

Think about it-as horsemen, we are absolutely attuned to our bodies and the space around us, and our horses-this is a safety issue! "There are only two emotions that should exist in the saddle: patience and a sense of humor"-this old golden rule relates well to any work scenario, life in general! I find that when the kitchen gets really crazy, I slow down mentally-just like I do when I'm dealing with a raucous/over-stressed horse-in that I begin breathing deeply, focusing on the task at hand, eliminating distractions, finding that "zen" place to power through whatever is happening.

The more I thought about it, the more I felt that my approach to a LOT of things comes from my horse industry background. I don't yell or lift my voice very often, when in the kitchen I tend to touch people on the side to let them know where I am beside them, and just out and about I tend to react like a horse person.

Anyone else notice this before? What were your lightbulb moments? Any other examples?