The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default This TB gelding's pedigree for sport--vineyridge?

I have a student who has a *very* nice TB who I have been working with for a few months now, I just looked up his pedigree on Del Mar:

http://www.pedigreequery.com/war+feather3

He is LOVELY, 16.2, leggy, uphill, short-coupled, with a sweet disposition, and a fantastic, naturally balanced canter. He has a hilarious, expressive, in your pocket personality. (He reminds me of a cartoon Disney horse )

I was just wondering, since in my scant experience, his pedigree looked good to me--but I was curious as to what the experts might think. He is currently foxhunting with the owner, and gets a bit anxious (when he is relaxed, he is a phenomenal jumper, but is a bit of a weenie. We are taking our time with building his confidence, I think in time he could be a very nice event horse...)

TIA
    "Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies."

"It's supposed to be hard...the hard is what makes it great!" (Jimmy Dugan, "A League of Their Own")

Clarksdale, MS--the golden buckle on the cotton belt

Super superior pedigree for eventing. Not a line in there that isn't good. Danzig is making his mark as a line for 4* horses, Pine Bluff was one of his better sons for sport, but the bottom is absolutely wonderful. Anytime you find Strawberry Road, you've found an excellent source of toughness and stamina. He must have been one of the soundest top quality race horses in modern history. Key Colony is good for generations, top and bottom.

I'd say you have a definite prospect to do higher level eventing--Prelim and up--just based on the pedigree and what you've said about him.
    "I'm a lumberjack, and I'm okay."
    Thread killer Extraordinaire

WOW! Thanks